Thread poster: JoBee
JoBee
JoBee  Identity Verified
Japan
Local time: 17:39
Japanese to English
Feb 12, 2014

Hey everyone,

I work with a handful of Japanese agencies, and a couple of them have policies that I'm not quite sure how to handle. I would be extremely appreciative to hear the perspective you guys have on this.

When starting out as a translator, I learned very quickly that, perhaps due to some misunderstanding regarding how the alphabet differs from kana, agencies and companies can be very particular about proper nouns. Not only do they always need to be spelled the s
... See more
Hey everyone,

I work with a handful of Japanese agencies, and a couple of them have policies that I'm not quite sure how to handle. I would be extremely appreciative to hear the perspective you guys have on this.

When starting out as a translator, I learned very quickly that, perhaps due to some misunderstanding regarding how the alphabet differs from kana, agencies and companies can be very particular about proper nouns. Not only do they always need to be spelled the same way, but they always require the same capitalization (i.e. MITSUBISHI MOTORS, regardless of the context). I feel this is a bit unnatural, but I have accepted that there is a standard in place.

However, the same attitude sometimes comes up even outside of proper nouns. In particular, if I am given 参考資料 (reference materials)--sometimes multiple pages of it--there is a decent chance that the agency (and by extension the end client?) want me to match things up, particularly when it comes to terminology. As I'm sure some of you know, these reference materials vary wildly in quality, with some of them prepared by less-than-able writers, and some of them being nearly incomprehensible.