Jorim De Clercq  Identity Verified
Ecuador
Local time: 01:43
Member (2012)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Mar 7, 2012

Help!!!
I have just done my first translations in some word-documents.
I need to know how I can count the words as shown below, because my employer asked for it.

WORD COUNT: Repetitions ......... words
100 - 95% ......... words
94-75% ......... words
74% - No match ........ words

I have no knowledge at all of any CAT-tools.
How can I do this? Can anybody help me?<
... See more
Help!!!
I need to know how I can count the words as shown below, because my employer asked for it.

94-75% ......... words

How can I do this? Can anybody help me?

Thanks
Collapse

István Hirsch
István Hirsch  Identity Verified
Local time: 07:43
English to Hungarian
In my opinion Mar 7, 2012

Producing these data would need re-creating the „philosophy" behind „matching” and turn it into proper mathematical formulae – this task is not as simple as it may seem for the first sight. CAT tool makers have solved this problem, so I suggest downloading a charge free CAT tool with word count function.

And, as a „side effect”, you may get to like using CAT tools.

Angela Dickson (X)
Angela Dickson (X)  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 06:43
French to English
+ ...
You can't, and shouldn't. Mar 7, 2012

Jorim De Clercq wrote:
Help!!!

94-75% ......... words

How can I do this? Can anybody help me?

Thanks

In short, you can't do this without a CAT tool. Is this really your employer, or is it a client for whom you are doing a job? If it is the latter, you need to tell them that you don't have a CAT tool.

It doesn't make sense for you to count the words in this way, since you obtain no speed or consistency benefit from knowledge of the level of repetition if you don't use a CAT tool.

Katalin Horváth McClure
Katalin Horváth McClure  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 02:43
Member (2002)
English to Hungarian
+ ...
Agreement BEFORE taking the job Mar 7, 2012