Automatic way to create a term base
Thread poster: Galia WF
Galia WF
Galia WF
Local time: 12:55
Apr 29, 2012

Hi all,

I am quite new to this. I was under the impression that there is some sort of auto tracking to every source and translated doc I enter which then automatically creates a term base as I go along.
Will I have to manually create a term base? If I understand correctly I will loose a substantial amount of time on creating a term base. I have a pressing deadline and thought that introducing a CAT
would save me valuable time.
I read that I could try to use an ali
... See more
Hi all,

I am quite new to this. I was under the impression that there is some sort of auto tracking to every source and translated doc I enter which then automatically creates a term base as I go along.
Will I have to manually create a term base? If I understand correctly I will loose a substantial amount of time on creating a term base. I have a pressing deadline and thought that introducing a CAT
would save me valuable time.
I read that I could try to use an alignment tool but it seems to me that there should be an automated way to create a term base.
I am currently looking at Wordfast and Deja Vu.

Many thanks,
Galia
Collapse

Dominique Pivard
Dominique Pivard  Identity Verified
Finnish to French
Several ways to do it Apr 30, 2012

Once you've created a translation memory and it's in use, it will grow automatically as you translate: each time you translate one sentence and move to the next one, the sentence pair you've just translated gets added to the TM. This applies to all versions of Wordfast (Classic, Pro, Anywhere, since you didn't mention which version(s) you're interested in), and to all other CAT tools as well.

Term bases (called glossaries in Wordfast Classic/Anywhere and terminogy lists in Wordfast
... See more