comparing multiple word documents
Thread poster: mike316
Jul 13, 2012

Hello,

I am a freelance translator. Sometimes, people give me multiple documents to translate, but these documents are largely identical. for example, this past week I was supposed to translate 4 legal agreements. Most of the paragraphs were the same, except some things were different. I found it very frustrating trying to compare the documents by hand and figuring out the actual word count (obviously, client shouldn't have to pay 4 times for a paragraph that is the same across all
... See more
Hello,

I am a freelance translator. Sometimes, people give me multiple documents to translate, but these documents are largely identical. for example, this past week I was supposed to translate 4 legal agreements. Most of the paragraphs were the same, except some things were different. I found it very frustrating trying to compare the documents by hand and figuring out the actual word count (obviously, client shouldn't have to pay 4 times for a paragraph that is the same across all documents).
I am wondering if there is a free software that I can plug these documents into and figure out the actual word count. By actual, I mean only things that are not identical should be counted.
I know Trados does this, but I dont have the money to buy it.
Is there any other software that does this?
Collapse

Didier Briel
Didier Briel  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 04:58
English to French
+ ...
OmegaT Jul 14, 2012

mike316 wrote:
I am a freelance translator. Sometimes, people give me multiple documents to translate, but these documents are largely identical. for example, this past week I was supposed to translate 4 legal agreements. Most of the paragraphs were the same, except some things were different. I found it very frustrating trying to compare the documents by hand and figuring out the actual word count (obviously, client shouldn't have to pay 4 times for a paragraph that is the same across all documents).