How to add a Trados TM to Helium?
Thread poster: Artem Vakhitov
Artem Vakhitov
Artem Vakhitov  Identity Verified
Kyrgyzstan
English to Russian
+ ...
Jul 18, 2012

Hi, I'm new to Helium (6.1.6) and can't seem to find a way to add a Trados TM to it. I know it must be possible. Any help?

Update: I have SDL Trados 2007 installed.

[Edited at 2012-07-18 08:46 GMT]

Artem Vakhitov
Kyrgyzstan
English to Russian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Partial solution: TM = "Glossary" in Helium parlance Jul 18, 2012

I found the answer (partial, as it happened to be): TMs are called "glossaries" in Helium, so it's Tools > Options > Lookup > Glossaries > Add.

However, I could not add a TM that way - Helium complained that it needs MS LocStudio. Then I proceeded to install LocStudio 6.1, but it wouldn't install because of .NET 2.0 was allegedly not installed. I tried to install .NET 2.0 from Microsoft own website, but it refused to install telling me that it's not supported on Vista (yes, I do hav
... See more
I found the answer (partial, as it happened to be): TMs are called "glossaries" in Helium, so it's Tools > Options > Lookup > Glossaries > Add.

However, I could not add a TM that way - Helium complained that it needs MS LocStudio. Then I proceeded to install LocStudio 6.1, but it wouldn't install because of .NET 2.0 was allegedly not installed. I tried to install .NET 2.0 from Microsoft own website, but it refused to install telling me that it's not supported on Vista (yes, I do have Vista and like it).

I did a little research on ProZ and found out that I actually need LocStudio 4.8. It wouldn't install either because of the same .NET problem. A registry hack suggested by one Pro user allowed me to install LocStudio, but then Helium would crash on loading a project. There was another suggestion - to uninstall all .NET versions and reinstall them starting from 1.1, but I was afraid to do that because I have critical applications that depend on .NET 3.5 and 4.0.