What is a good tool to translate a website?
Thread poster: Vic Napiorkowski
Vic Napiorkowski
Vic Napiorkowski
Local time: 18:12
Polish to English
Aug 1, 2012

I am completely new to website translation.
I was warned NOT to mess with extracting (copying/pasting into Word, basically) source text manually, since this makes the job of the IT person who "reconstitutes" the site in-language a nightmare.

What tools for translating a website are out there, and are any easier to use than others?
In Windows 7. I have Trados Studio 2009 and Trados 2007 with TagEditor.

Many thanks,
Vito

Neil Coffey
Neil Coffey  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 00:12
French to English
+ ...
Ask the client... Aug 1, 2012

The most appropriate procedure for translating a web site can vary hugely depending on how the client has actually implemented their web site.

So it's usually best not to be too theoretical: ask the client what format they actually have their copy in and what will be most convenient for them. (They in turn may have to consult with their web site company to provide an answer to this.)

It's usually not appropriate for *you* to copy the text directly from their site into W
... See more
The most appropriate procedure for translating a web site can vary hugely depending on how the client has actually implemented their web site.

So it's usually best not to be too theoretical: ask the client what format they actually have their copy in and what will be most convenient for them. (They in turn may have to consult with their web site company to provide an answer to this.)

It's usually not appropriate for *you* to copy the text directly from their site into Word.

However, it may turn out that the most convenient procedure for the client is actually to supply you with the copy in Word and for you to supply the translation in Word.