Thread poster: Camille_P
Camille_P
Camille_P
Spain
Local time: 23:05
Haitian-Creole to French
+ ...
Jun 20, 2014

I have been using OmegaT since now, but I would like to try another CAT tool in order to improve my productivity. Since I am just starting as a freelancer, I would like to know if you can recommend me a free or really affordable software to improve my productivity and to easily create translation memories.

Thank you in advance.

Ali Bayraktar
Ali Bayraktar  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Member (2007)
English to Turkish
+ ...
CafeTran Jun 20, 2014

Camille_P wrote:

I have been using OmegaT since now, but I would like to try another CAT tool in order to improve my productivity. Since I am just starting as a freelancer, I would like to know if you can recommend me a free or really affordable software to improve my productivity and to easily create translation memories.

Thank you in advance.

Cafetran will be perfect for you.

Camille_P
Camille_P
Spain
Haitian-Creole to French
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
CafeTran Jun 20, 2014

Thank you so much for your answer! I will try it right now!

Walter Moura
Walter Moura  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 18:05
English to Portuguese
MemSource Jun 20, 2014

Try Memsource.

It's a free online cat-tool, but you can download their Editor and work on your PC. It's easy to learn and has lots of format filters. In the free-mode, you can upload up to two files at a time to translate, but each file can have up to 10 MB.

You can find it at http://www.memsource.com/pricing/

Good luck.

Michael Beijer
Michael Beijer  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:05
Member (2009)
Dutch to English
+ ...
CafeTran! Jun 20, 2014

I would like to second CafeTran, which is currently the best CAT tool on the market, and which also happens to be one of the cheapest.

Michael

Camille_P
Camille_P
Spain
Haitian-Creole to French
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Memsource Jun 21, 2014

Thank you so much for your advice, I will try it next week!

Camille_P