Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Regarding cat tools
Thread poster: Uma Harilal
Uma Harilal
Uma Harilal
English to French
Jun 27, 2014

Hi

I want to know how does these cat tools work. I am planning to start using a cat tool. I am new to these cat tool. Which cat tool should i go for...I dont know any thing about these cat tools.

Octavio Armendariz
Octavio Armendariz  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 08:37
French to English
+ ...
Examples of CAT tools Jun 27, 2014

There are many CAT tools available. They basically work with translation memory (TM). They keep track of what you have translated already so you don't have re-translate.

Some CAT tools included Trados (very expensive), WordFast, Deja Vu and Memo Q. Trados provide little information. You may want to go to the websites of the other CAT tools to find out more.

Maxi Schwarz
Maxi Schwarz  Identity Verified
Local time: 10:37
German to English
+ ...
According to need Jun 27, 2014

Usually we get tools because of a need. Are you finding that you are translating a lot of large technical text with repeat terminology that must always be rendered the same way? You should not buy a tool simply because some customer insists on your using it. You are the translator, and you know what you need.

George May (X)
George May (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 15:37
French to English
+ ...
CAT tools - it's not just a technical issue Jun 27, 2014

One non-technical issue you should take into consideration is that, increasingly, many agencies and clients will force you to use one specific tool or another because they themselves have invested in that tool and want to capitalize on their investment.

So, you may want to talk to those you work for to hear if they care which tool you use (or not)

Good luck!

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 16:37
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@Uma Jun 27, 2014

Uma Harilal wrote:
Which CAT tool should I go for?