Thread poster: Zelikazi
Zelikazi
Zelikazi
United States
Local time: 00:54
Japanese to English
+ ...
Dec 12, 2014

I think there are many translators out there who would like to utilize CAT software, but find the existing options to be difficult to use, or to conflict with their workflow.

I'm a JA-EN translator/web developer working on a simple alternative, and I'm looking for suggestions.

I don't intend to replace the established applications overflowing with features that are already out there.
Rather, I want to build a simple, modern CAT application that gives us CAT featur
... See more
I think there are many translators out there who would like to utilize CAT software, but find the existing options to be difficult to use, or to conflict with their workflow.

I'm a JA-EN translator/web developer working on a simple alternative, and I'm looking for suggestions.

I don't intend to replace the established applications overflowing with features that are already out there.
Rather, I want to build a simple, modern CAT application that gives us CAT features without forcing us to do things a certain way.

Some of the features it will have:

- Looks up terms in multiple dictionaries/sites in advance for the translator
- Autocompletes lengthy terms (optional)
- Supports translation memories, term bases, etc.
- Autosaves work
- Online and accessible from anywhere
- Support for many language pairs and common document types
- File encryption and secure connections
- No clutter, no bloated software

I'd like to hear what sort of application and what sort of features fellow translators would like to see!!
Any ideas??
Collapse

Roy OConnor (X)
Roy OConnor (X)
Local time: 06:54
German to English
Simple? Dec 12, 2014

You list of features sounds pretty comprehensive to me and I'm left wondering what you have left out to stop it being another piece of "bloated" software.

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...