JonAnderson
Canada
Apr 13, 2015

Hi,

I am completely new to the world of translation. A friend of mine
is an executive of a multinational company and is helping me out
financially by offering me some translation work. The first
project is a large (120,000 word help file for CRM software) which
will be followed by other translation projects.

I researched the tools used by professional translators, found
this incredible website and read and watched tutorial videos on
... See more
Hi,

I am completely new to the world of translation. A friend of mine
is an executive of a multinational company and is helping me out
financially by offering me some translation work. The first
project is a large (120,000 word help file for CRM software) which

I researched the tools used by professional translators, found
this incredible website and read and watched tutorial videos on
all the major CAT software. Unfortunately, since I am not planning
to be a full-time translator (I have another career), I found the
CAT software model to be too laborious because of the large
quantity of initial translation needed to be done manually to
build the TMs from the ground up.

So I turned to MT based software as it offers instant translation.
I quickly zeroed-in on SYSTRAN which appears to be one of the most
established and robust option. I fully realize that I will need to
edit the initial translation and that having a TM tool inside the
MT software is essential. This lead me to considering buying the
SYSTRAN Premium (hybrid MT).

A few questions before I make that substantial investment in the next day or so as I need to get started this week:

- is SYSTRAN Premium the better MT option available?
- is it a mistake, considering my situation, to shy away from CAT software?
- what are the major trade offs in using MT instead of CAT?
- and most importantly, is SYSTRAN MT initial translation high quality?

Thanks in advance!
Jon
Collapse

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 05:34