Setting up translation strings for a website translation
Thread poster: zoodal
zoodal
zoodal
Australia
Local time: 11:46
Dec 20, 2015

I am a computer programmer who is preparing a website for translation (I never had to translate a site before - so I am on a learning curve!) and I have a question about preparing the web site text strings for translation.

Many of my strings will have variables embedded in the text to be translated. For example a string may contain none or many variables and would be displayed as follows:

Click the link to view your {{ variable }}.

In the above example, the
... See more
I am a computer programmer who is preparing a website for translation (I never had to translate a site before - so I am on a learning curve!) and I have a question about preparing the web site text strings for translation.

Many of my strings will have variables embedded in the text to be translated. For example a string may contain none or many variables and would be displayed as follows:

In the above example, the {{ variable }} will be replaced by an already translated word or words. Depending on the pages where this string will be displayed the {{ variable }} will be a different tanslated word.

This would prevent the almost same string appearing on 30+ pages and requiring translation for each individual string. For example:

Click the link to view your Name Details.
Click the link to view your Address Details.
Click the link to view your Contact Details.

Not counting the variable, would the following string be considered 6 or 7 words to be translated:

The reason I ask is that the above string can be translated once and displayed on say 30 pages. This approach would be preferred due to the "don't repeat yourself" (DRY) methodology of programming - and cheaper to translate.