What about MemoQ? Is it really the best option?
Thread poster: margerrit
margerrit
margerrit  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 16:14
English to Russian
+ ...
Oct 21, 2019

Hello everyone! I am new to CAT tools, please help me choose an effective and not very costly product. A colleague recommended MemoQ. Is it really the best option? I translate a lot, different topics, have to start using CAT tools now. I understand MemoQ has a strong alignment feature, allowing users to rely on available ref docs.

[Edited at 2019-10-21 23:59 GMT]

[Edited at 2019-10-22 01:23 GMT]

Jean Dimitriadis
Jean Dimitriadis  Identity Verified
English to French
+ ...
"Best" is in the eye of the beholder Oct 22, 2019

MemoQ is a good option.

Most if not all CAT tools offer a free/demo/trial version, so you can try for yourself and see what suits your particular needs best.

Alignment is not an essential feature, in that it can also be done outside a CAT tool, using an external aligner (for example the excellent free LF Aligner - https://sourceforge.net/projects/aligner ). You can then
... See more
MemoQ is a good option.

Most if not all CAT tools offer a free/demo/trial version, so you can try for yourself and see what suits your particular needs best.

Alignment is not an essential feature, in that it can also be done outside a CAT tool, using an external aligner (for example the excellent free LF Aligner - https://sourceforge.net/projects/aligner ). You can then import the resulting translation memory into your CAT tool of choice.

[Edited at 2019-10-22 06:10 GMT]
Collapse

Jorge Payan
Dan Lucas
Hans Lenting
margerrit

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 14:14
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@Margerrit Oct 22, 2019

margerrit wrote:
I understand MemoQ has a strong alignment feature, allowing users to rely on available reference documents.