Susanne Toito
Susanne Toito
Canada
Local time: 13:02
Portuguese to English
+ ...
May 19, 2020

Hello there!
I am a newbie freelancer and am wondering about the purchase of CAT tools. There are some great deals being offered for both TRADOS and MemoQ right now and I am on the fence. I know that SDL Trados is the biggest name out there right now and would definitely be worth purchasing, but I also know that MemoQ is the new up and coming name.
So, I am asking advice:
Is it worth it to purchase both?
Do you find that one or any of your CAT tool purchases were not w
... See more
Hello there!
I am a newbie freelancer and am wondering about the purchase of CAT tools. There are some great deals being offered for both TRADOS and MemoQ right now and I am on the fence. I know that SDL Trados is the biggest name out there right now and would definitely be worth purchasing, but I also know that MemoQ is the new up and coming name.
So, I am asking advice:
Do you find that one or any of your CAT tool purchases were not worth it for you and why?
Thanks in advance!
Collapse

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:02
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Never mind the names May 19, 2020

Susanne Toito wrote:

Hello there!
So, I am asking advice:
Do you find that one or any of your CAT tool purchases were not worth it for you and why?
Thanks in advance!

Don't be influenced by "big names" or "great deals"; before you spend money on something you may regret, try a few of them first and decide which ones you can actually work with and that will be useful to you. Currently I'm playing around with the trial version of CafeTran and I'm more impressed with it than others.

[Edited at 2020-05-19 16:31 GMT]

Philippe Etienne
Natalia Pedrosa
Susanne Toito
Hans Lenting
Christine Andersen
Aline Amorim

Rahi Moosavi
Rahi Moosavi  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 13:02
Member (2004)
English to Persian (Farsi)
+ ...
Depends May 19, 2020