UK Police Interview and Court interpreting procedure
Thread poster: Jane Smith
Jane Smith
Jane Smith
United Kingdom
Jan 8, 2021

Hi Everyone,
I'm a fiction writer working on a book featuring a character who is an interpreter for the Met Police and the Courts in the UK.
I'd be enormously appreciative if anyone with experience of working in these settings would have a moment to help me with the following.

- If interpreting in court for a factual witness for the defence, would this be done via whisper or consecutive method? I'm wondering whether the witness would give their answers (in their language
... See more
Hi Everyone,
I'm a fiction writer working on a book featuring a character who is an interpreter for the Met Police and the Courts in the UK.
I'd be enormously appreciative if anyone with experience of working in these settings would have a moment to help me with the following.

- If interpreting in court for a factual witness for the defence, would this be done via whisper or consecutive method? I'm wondering whether the witness would give their answers (in their language) into a microphone in court for all to hear, or would they speak quietly so that only the interpreter sitting next to them can hear their answers? Would be any opportunity for a bilingual speaker in the courtroom to object to something in the translation? Or would a person sitting back in the public gallery be unable to hear the witness's answers in their language, and only hear the english interpretation?

- Hypothetically, how might it be possible, in a court situation, for an interpreter to deliberately mistranslate something a witness or defendant said and for this to not be picked-up by someone else present in the courtroom?

thank you so much for any help
Jane
Collapse

Jan Rausch
Jan Rausch  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 16:10
German to English
+ ...
Depends on the direction Jan 8, 2021