Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
Poll: Were any of these subjects present in your higher education as a translator ?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Apr 11, 2021

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Were any of these subjects present in your higher education as a translator ?".

View the poll results »

Joel Basila

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 18:58
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Other (none of the above) Apr 11, 2021

I didn't start out my career as a translator. I studied economics and tourism. But then translation found me: part-time for a few years followed by 20 years as full-time in-house translator and reviser (retired now), followed by 15 years as a freelancer. If I could do it all over again I would probably start at a younger age than I did but then again I wouldn’t have all the useful knowledge and experience I had gleaned over the years…

Maria da Glória Teixeira
Kay-Viktor Stegemann
Kimberly Wastler
Philip Lees
Josephine Cassar
Joy Donovan
P.L.F. Persio

Philip Lees
Philip Lees  Identity Verified
Greece
Local time: 20:58
Greek to English
Higher than what? Apr 12, 2021

It depends on your definition of "higher education". I had no formal education as a translator. Like many others here, I came to it from another direction in a gradual process of reorientation that paralleled my growing competence in my source language.

However, during the years that I've worked as a translator I've had to learn many related new things, including something about all the subjects in the poll's list. So in a sense you could say that was part of my "higher education".<
... See more
It depends on your definition of "higher education". I had no formal education as a translator. Like many others here, I came to it from another direction in a gradual process of reorientation that paralleled my growing competence in my source language.