Magali Liebens
Magali Liebens  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:22
English to French
+ ...
Jan 30, 2020

Hello

I am an EnglishFrench interpreter based in London and we are considering moving to Montreal, Canada. I am not sure if I'll be able to work in Montreal as much as I work in London, most of the people there are already bilingual !

I work in the private sector in London mainly as a conference interpreter or business interpreter.

Do you have any insights/opinion about how the market is in Montreal with this language combinaison ? I'd love to be able to
... See more
Hello

I am an EnglishFrench interpreter based in London and we are considering moving to Montreal, Canada. I am not sure if I'll be able to work in Montreal as much as I work in London, most of the people there are already bilingual !

I work in the private sector in London mainly as a conference interpreter or business interpreter.

Do you have any insights/opinion about how the market is in Montreal with this language combinaison ? I'd love to be able to exchange with colleagues who are working there.

Many thanks for your help.

Mag
Collapse

Vanda Nissen
Vanda Nissen  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 23:22
Member (2008)
English to Russian
+ ...
My five cents Feb 1, 2020

Hi Magali,

I do not live in Canada, but I am doing research on health communication and I have come across several articles on bilingualism in the Montreal health sector. By the way it sounds, it is very difficult to find truly bilingual health practitioners there - a lot of nurses are French speaking with some basic English skills, so my guess is they do use English-French interpreters there but I cannot say anything about the number of jobs.

John Fossey
John Fossey  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 09:22
Member (2008)
French to English
+ ...
Montreal Feb 3, 2020