WeiYi Jiang
WeiYi Jiang  Identity Verified
Taiwan
Member (2019)
English to Chinese
+ ...
Jul 14, 2020

Hello Everyone,
I am a translator from Taiwan. I just got two contacts from 2 separate companies
and they both asked me to take a test of ALTA as a part of their onboarding process.
The tests were made of 3 short pieces of news and I had to translate the the first and one of the other two by my choice.
I've got the result of the first test, and, for I just got 10/12 and the assigning company wanted only 11+, I failed to their test.
Just for curious, for all ALTA tes
... See more
Hello Everyone,
I am a translator from Taiwan. I just got two contacts from 2 separate companies
and they both asked me to take a test of ALTA as a part of their onboarding process.
The tests were made of 3 short pieces of news and I had to translate the the first and one of the other two by my choice.
I've got the result of the first test, and, for I just got 10/12 and the assigning company wanted only 11+, I failed to their test.
Just for curious, for all ALTA tests seem like from news paper, do they have emphasis on some specific areas like literary?
Is 10 score bad for their test?
Thank you for any share in advance.
Collapse

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 19:10
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@WeiYi Jul 14, 2020

WeiYi Jiang wrote:
I've got the result of the first test, and, for I just got 10/12 and the assigning company wanted only 11+, I failed to their test. ... Is 10 score bad for their test?

I've never heard of these tests until today. From what I can tell, based on the description of the scale, 10 is not a terrible score, but I can understand why a client would prefer an 11.

Capture-1

Did you get back a list of errors that you made? Do you agree that you made "a few errors with advanced grammar or structures"?

[Edited at 2020-07-14 07:49 GMT]

WeiYi Jiang
Aline Amorim

WeiYi Jiang
WeiYi Jiang  Identity Verified
Taiwan