Alessandro Cattelan (X)
Alessandro Cattelan (X)
Italy
Local time: 05:50
English to Italian
+ ...
Mar 16, 2008

Hi there,
I'm not very good at this, so I'm asking for a suggestion on how to automatically mark the text as tw4winExternal with MS Word in order to work on a given document with Trados or Wordfast.
Somewhere in this forum I read someone saying that the find/replace function of MS Word could be used for this. Could it be used to automatize the process? Could a macro be created to do the job?
Thanks,
Ale.

Attila Piróth
Attila Piróth  Identity Verified
France
English to Hungarian
+ ...
You can do it Mar 16, 2008

Alessandro Cattelan wrote:

Hi there,
I'm not very good at this, so I'm asking for a suggestion on how to automatically mark the text as tw4winExternal with MS Word in order to work on a given document with Trados or Wordfast.
Somewhere in this forum I read someone saying that the find/replace function of MS Word could be used for this. Could it be used to automatize the process? Could a macro be created to do the job?
Thanks,
Ale.

Hi Alessandro,
While Trados and Wordfast both have tagger modules (S-tagger for Trados, and in PlusTools, +Tweaks for WF), it is indeed possible to to do it manually - and in certain cases this is the only way. You may write a macro, or use the batch replacement option in WF's PlusTools - but in certain cases you can do everything manually in Word surprisingly fast if you use wildcard options (*), or special characters such as "^#" for numbers, etc.
See Samuel's posting here: http://www.proz.com/post/811234#811234, you will certainly find it useful.
Attila

Vito Smolej
Vito Smolej
Germany
Member (2004)
English to Slovenian
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
Have a look at the Tortoise Tagger Mar 28, 2008

.... Could a macro be created to do the job? ...