How to handle repetitive texts before OmegaT sent to API machine translation?
Thread poster: reinacher
reinacher
reinacher
Switzerland
May 9, 2021

Dear experts,

I am new to OmegaT. I'd highly appreciate your professional advice, really.
We have e-commerce files, SKUs with similar names, different type numbers
For example:
PLACA ELETRÔNICA PFD94900-2
PLACA ELETRÔNICA OPFI149400
PLACA ELETRÔNICA KLQI 04900-2
PLACA ELETRÔNICA KKLFI 24/36/48
PLACA ELETRÔNICA SD49492000

Problem is that, if we run 10k paragraphs like this via machine translation only 10% will be unique, the
... See more
Dear experts,

I am new to OmegaT. I'd highly appreciate your professional advice, really.
We have e-commerce files, SKUs with similar names, different type numbers
For example:
PLACA ELETRÔNICA PFD94900-2
PLACA ELETRÔNICA OPFI149400
PLACA ELETRÔNICA KLQI 04900-2
PLACA ELETRÔNICA KKLFI 24/36/48
PLACA ELETRÔNICA SD49492000

Problem is that, if we run 10k paragraphs like this via machine translation only 10% will be unique, the rest is just repetitive text.

As a result, all characters translated with the API machine translation will be charged. For the translation of repetitive texts, this is an important factor to take into account in order to avoid translating the same text over and over again and thus save on consumption.

My question is how to configure OmegaT to use databases before asking the MT API to translate any text, so its system first checks whether there are existing translations for the text to be translated. If the answer is "yes", the translation already available is displayed. If the answer is "no", then the text to be translated is sent to the MT API and stored in the database. Any plug-ins, process, custom work? Thank you in advance.
Collapse

Susan Welsh
Susan Welsh  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 03:53
Russian to English
+ ...
I have no idea... May 10, 2021

... but if no one answers here, ask on the sourceforge OmegaT list, which gets more traffic: