Janelle Bowditch
Janelle Bowditch  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 11:57
English to Japanese
+ ...
Apr 29, 2010

Dear All,
I work as an in-house translator for a major gaming company in a team of around 10 people. One of the main things that keep us busy day in, day out is translating vast quantities of emails from Japanese to English and vice-versa. These emails often contain a great deal of fixed phrases and repetition and I find my fingers growing weary typing the same old lines over and over (things like; "Hello. This is so-and-so from Company X, Dept. Y and "Please don't hesitate to ask if you h
... See more
Dear All,
I work as an in-house translator for a major gaming company in a team of around 10 people. One of the main things that keep us busy day in, day out is translating vast quantities of emails from Japanese to English and vice-versa. These emails often contain a great deal of fixed phrases and repetition and I find my fingers growing weary typing the same old lines over and over (things like; "Hello. This is so-and-so from Company X, Dept. Y and "Please don't hesitate to ask if you have any questions", etc etc).
To speed things up and keep consistency we currently use the copy & paste function but that involves finding and pulling up past emails which is sometimes more time consuming then just re-typing again from scratch. I was wondering if anybody is aware of an auto-suggest function that works in email systems like Novell Groupwise, for example? Is there anyway that CAT tools like Trados or Wordfast can be implemented in such cases?

I would really appreciate if someone has any words of advice. Thank-you!

Janelle
Collapse

Jerónimo Fernández
Jerónimo Fernández  Identity Verified
English to Spanish
+ ...
One way of using CAT tools in this case Apr 29, 2010

Dear Janelle,

I don't know about auto-sugest functions, but you can always copy the body of the email message in a Word file and use your favourite CAT tool to translate it.

Regards,