Use of copyrighted material in sample translations.
Thread poster: Joshua Carmody (X)
Joshua Carmody (X)
Joshua Carmody (X)  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 02:02
Japanese to English
Jul 26, 2005

I'm interested in becoming a freelance translator, and am trying to put my first resume together. One problem that I'm facing is that since I have very little related experience (only one project so far), I don't have a very good way of demonstrating my skill to prospective clients. As a solution, I was considering just taking a difficult or techincal text from a website or publication and translating a few paragraphs as a "sample" to send with me resume. However, I'm not sure what the legal ram... See more
I'm interested in becoming a freelance translator, and am trying to put my first resume together. One problem that I'm facing is that since I have very little related experience (only one project so far), I don't have a very good way of demonstrating my skill to prospective clients. As a solution, I was considering just taking a difficult or techincal text from a website or publication and translating a few paragraphs as a "sample" to send with me resume. However, I'm not sure what the legal ramifications of doing this might be. It's likely that any work that I choose to translate will be copyrighted, and the original authors may not appreciate the republication of their material. Can anyone advise me as to what the rules might be here? If copyrighted material is taboo, can anyone suggest where I might get some good public domain Japanese source material? And is translating a sample to send to clients even a good idea? I appreciate any and all input. Thanks!Collapse

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 08:02
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Just ask permission Jul 27, 2005

Joshua Carmody wrote: