The Wayland Experience
Thread poster: Mr. Satan (X)
Mr. Satan (X)
Mr. Satan (X)
English to Indonesian
May 16, 2023

Salutations, my brothers and sisters in Tux!
[secret hand gestures]

As some of you might already know, I have fully migrated to the Holy Wayland. It turned out that I had been running river WM for three months, based on the log entry. While river did have some issues with title bars in GTK applications (among some other minor gripes), I think it was a positive experience overall. Luckily for me, I mostly work on the cloud. All the major web browsers run natively on Wayland.... See more
Salutations, my brothers and sisters in Tux!
[secret hand gestures]

As some of you might already know, I have fully migrated to the Holy Wayland. It turned out that I had been running river WM for three months, based on the log entry. While river did have some issues with title bars in GTK applications (among some other minor gripes), I think it was a positive experience overall. Luckily for me, I mostly work on the cloud. All the major web browsers run natively on Wayland.

Still, I decided to try out Sway, since this is the most matured wl-roots compositor available at the moment. OpenSUSE Tumbleweed spin was ordained, because the defaults align with the vision Lord Tux gave me. I only needed to make small adjustments instead of requiring to configure my desktop again from scratch. And sure enough, I didn’t encounter all the problems I had with river. I’ll stay on it for another three months, while keeping tabs on Wayland developments.