Necessity of getting certified as a translator to work in Canada (Ontario)
Thread poster: Laura Jones
Laura Jones
Laura Jones
United Kingdom
Oct 24, 2022

How important is it to be certified to gain work in Canada?

I am planning to transition to a career as a DE > EN translator, but I will soon be moving from the UK to Canada (Ontario).

Due to the entry requirements for the exam for translator certification in Ontario, I will not be able to qualify to be certified as a translator in Ontario until at least a couple of year after emigrating.

My degree is in German, not translation, and my qualification in trans
... See more
How important is it to be certified to gain work in Canada?

I am planning to transition to a career as a DE > EN translator, but I will soon be moving from the UK to Canada (Ontario).

Due to the entry requirements for the exam for translator certification in Ontario, I will not be able to qualify to be certified as a translator in Ontario until at least a couple of year after emigrating.

My degree is in German, not translation, and my qualification in translation is considered vocational, not academic, so ATIO (Association for Translators and Interpreters in Ontario) will not allow me to sit their certification qualification.

Given it is that I would receive the majority of work from German clients anyway, how essential is certification as a translator for working in Canada?

Thoughts would be much appreciated, especially from anyone working in the language pair DE - EN in Canada.

If anyone has experience earning a full time income from online, freelance work in Canada (in a language pair other than FR - EN), your thoughts would be particularly valued.
Collapse

Adam Dickinson
Adam Dickinson  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 02:10
Member (2016)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Mostly for official documents Oct 25, 2022