Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Poll: When did you start to feel 100% confident about your work?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Oct 12, 2016

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "When did you start to feel 100% confident about your work?".

View the poll results »

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 21:30
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
After 10 years + I still doubt... Oct 12, 2016

After 10 years, I started feeling confident, but I have been translating full-time for over 30 years now and yet, when I deliver a text, I always feel a slight apprehension: Have I done it right? Could I have done it better? I see this as a good thing as it keeps me on my toes. Overconfidence is a killer! The more translating I do, the more I realize just how much there is to learn...

[Edited at 2016-10-12 08:31 GMT]

Muriel Vasconcellos
Muriel Vasconcellos  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 13:30
Member (2003)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Same as Teresa Oct 12, 2016

Teresa Borges wrote:

After 10 years, I started feeling confident, but I have been translating full-time for over 30 years now and yet, when I deliver a text, I always feel a slight apprehension: Have I done it right? Could I have done it better? I see this as a good thing as it keeps me on my toes. Overconfidence is a killer! The more translating I do, the more I realize just how much there is to learn...

I've been translating full-time for more than 40 years and I feel the same way. Since I work for international organizations that cover a wide area of topics, many jobs contain little surprises and doubts. I am much more confident with technical translations; it's the less technical ones that are more likely to raise questions in my mind.

neilmac
neilmac
Spain
Local time: 22:30
Spanish to English
+ ...
Still doubting after all these years... Oct 12, 2016