A témához tartozó oldalak:   [1 2] >
As a freelancer can I proofread my own work?
Téma indítója: Karen Henry
Karen Henry
Karen Henry  Identity Verified
Local time: 00:05
francia - angol
Jan 15, 2012

I'm just starting out as a freelancer so this may seem like a silly question for most, but I can't work out how I can be competitive if I have to pay someone for proofreading. I have seen in some translating sites that the translators do their own proofreading, is this standard practice?

Christine Andersen
Christine Andersen  Identity Verified
Dánia
Tag (2003 óta)
dán - angol
+ ...
Of course you can! Jan 15, 2012

If you work for agencies, they know you proofread your own work. The best ones understand that you do need to 'sleep on it' first if possible, or at least get away from your work for a few hours, because it is often hard to see your own mistakes! They know that most freelancers are working alone, unless you have some agreement with a spouse or colleague who can help out. But you are not expected to pay extra for proofreading as a general rule.

Some agencies recommend routines or pro
... See more
If you work for agencies, they know you proofread your own work. The best ones understand that you do need to 'sleep on it' first if possible, or at least get away from your work for a few hours, because it is often hard to see your own mistakes! They know that most freelancers are working alone, unless you have some agreement with a spouse or colleague who can help out. But you are not expected to pay extra for proofreading as a general rule.

Some agencies recommend routines or provide checklists with spell checking, checking against the source, checking again without the source for fluency etc. and a final spell check as the basic elements. Others leave you to work out for yourself how you do it.