Several Questions for MT users
Thread poster: Nicholas Stedman
Nicholas Stedman
Nicholas Stedman  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 01:14
French to English
Nov 11, 2010

I have been battling with Systran Premium for many years. It can increase my output by up to 20 or 30 % but certainly nothing like the 90 % claimed by someone here for Prompt. Could someone else confirm this vast superiority of Prompt??

I find that despite using several giant customised dictionaries I am not getting an overall better translation than Google translate. The mistakes are different, with better technical compliance with Systran but worse overall translation quality. Ob
... See more
I have been battling with Systran Premium for many years. It can increase my output by up to 20 or 30 % but certainly nothing like the 90 % claimed by someone here for Prompt. Could someone else confirm this vast superiority of Prompt??

I find that despite using several giant customised dictionaries I am not getting an overall better translation than Google translate. The mistakes are different, with better technical compliance with Systran but worse overall translation quality. Obviously despite GT being incorporated in Trados studio 2009, I am not using it for confidentiality reasons. Could someone tell me if the corrected target segments are uploaded back into Google translate from Trados studio for future use?? They may not be doing this at the moment but will this happen in the future?

At the moment it seems that you can't use either Prompt or Systran with Trados studio 2009. This doesn't really matter as studio 2009 is such a bug-ridden piece of software anyway!